Camo baby shower cake!

13120777_1622878698040149_460708220_o

I finally managed to drag myself out of bed this morning to get a few blog posts done, but man was it ever tough. Last night was….interesting. Our bunny Sophie has hit puberty, so she is a nightmare right now. She is only 4 1/2 months and we can’t get her spayed until she is 6 months (which will calm her down) so we are just going through the motions of her tantrums and complete lack of litter box use. The real victim is our other little girl Monkey, who is dealing with the full force of Sophie’s dominance crisis and has to constantly hide from her to avoid getting humped. Yup. So at night we have to keep Sophie confined as she is normally a free range bunny in the house, and she made quite the ruckus well into the wee hours of the morning.

But speaking of small baby animals, here’s a camo cake with a little deer on top! Camo fondant is actually the trickiest I’ve ever tried to make. There are a lot of factors that make it a success or a nightmare. Thankfully I had tried it before and kind of knew where I went wrong, so this time around things went a lot more smoothly.

You can see from the photo that I used 4 different colors, three green and a tannish brown. You can really use any colors you want, I’ve done pink and purple and it looks awesome as long as you have a few different shades thrown in.

You want to tear off chunks of each color, roll them into various shapes, and press them gently together on your work surface. Be sure to break up the colors and shapes so none of the same colors are closely touching.Some shortening on the fingers really aids the fondant pieces in sticking to each other. I found that using cornstarch on my counter was really a hindrance when rolling out my fondant as it dried it out and prevented my pieces from adhering to one another. When rolling it out, you may find that some of your seams between the pieces just arent coming together, so you’ll want to help this by using your fingers to gently pinch them, then instead of just rolling up and down/side to side, make sure you are working that fondant from every angle.

I finished this cake off by adding a deer I had made out of fondant and piping a grass border around the bottom edge. Super cute and perfect for a gender reveal or baby shower cake!

 

