Toy Story Goodies!

Yee-haw!!

Welcome back my crumblets! I had THE BEST weekend. One of my clients was absolutely amazing and did up the best party I ever did see for her little girl turning 5. The theme was Toy Story, specifically Jessie. All of the snacks and treats were TS themed, so I was super excited to be able to add to their already rockin’ goodies table.

The cupcakes were simple yet sooo cute! I finished these first because they were going to the little ones class the day before the party for everyone to enjoy. I made the little hats from red fondant and used a combo of white fondant and white chocolate for the trim. These babies were sitting on a cloud of Swiss Meringue buttercream atop a moist vanilla cupcake.I wasnt there to witness it myself, but I was told the kids went nuts for these.

12947036_10154045350675350_927161269_o

Then came the cake pops. Oh the cake pops. I’m going to be real with you. I am not a fan of cake pops. Never have been, probably never will be. Before I started this whole cake adventure, I always thought cake pops were far too sweet. either too much icing mixed in or the candy coating was way too thick. Now that I have to make them for clients, I try my hardest to make sure the sweetness is toned down, but I leave it to my boyfriend to do most of the sampling.

These were actually super easy to make!

12922259_10154045350955350_879454357_o

The cow print ones (ignore the one that decided to slip down) were just pops I dipped in white candy melts and then piped on the design using black melts . Badda bing badda boom, done.

Hamm the pig was a little more time consuming but still super easy. Once you have the cake ball chilled with the stick in it, take two chocolate chips and secure them to the top with a little melted chocolate. For his little snout, take a chocolate wafer (the little round coin looking ones) and make sure you are pressing the top into the cake pop so the flat bottom is showing. Again use some chocolate to secure it in place. Chill them in the fridge for a couple of minutes, making sure the chocolate has set before you dip the whole thing into your pink candy melts. I used pink and black edible food markers to draw on his features, looking at a pic for guidance.

On to the cake! My client had sent me a photo of a cake done by Cake Diane Custom Cake Studio so I based my cake off of that with a few differences. Everything was done in fondant and I am super happy with how it turned out!

12922433_10154045350795350_1467343337_o12952948_10154045350630350_2110703978_o

Overall this was an amazing theme to do and I had such a fun time doing it! I will be trying to upload at least 2 blog posts a week from here on out and Youtube tutorials are coming soon! Thank you for reading this:)

Bye for now!

 

 

